Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs

Hey Guys! It’s Jordan from ReadGeekx3 with a new book review! This review is for the first book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, written by Ransom Riggs. This will be the first review in our Miss Peregrine’s Review Series, in which we will review both of the books in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series leading up to the release of the third and final book, Library of Souls.

Miss Peregrines Cover

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children follows a 16 year old boy, Jacob Portman, who ventures with his father to a isolated island off the coast of Wales in search of answers after a haunting family tragedy. Once at the island, he discovers the remnants of an abandoned orphanage, said to have once be home to peculiar children, all thought to be now dead. But as Jacob explores, it becomes clearer that he may not have just stumbled upon a new world he once never thought possible, but that he might just be part of it.

This novel tells it’s story both through text and vernacular photography, a choice that enhances the the story and help to maintain the stories sense of gloom and somberness. It is also a choice that I applaud author Ransom Riggs for, as I do imagine that building a story around photographs to create a new experience for the reader would be a particularly hard task. All of the characters are given depth, the narrative is well paced, and the book is just well written all together. The only issue I have with this book is that some of the photos seem out of place, especially at the beginning, but this is still a wonderful, well written YA novel.

This book is really great! It’s mix of photography and text make it a wonderful experience, unlike any book I have read. I give this book 5/5 stars! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially to people who love series such as The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.

Our review of the second book, Hollow City, is coming next Monday!

Library of Souls, the third and final book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series, goes on sale on September 22 and is available for preorder now!

Follow ReadGeekx3 for more book reviews like this one!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s