The Divergent Series By Veronica Roth Series Review


Hey it’s the third day of GEEKMAS and here I have a review I’ve been holding back for a while. This is one of my favorite series of all time! Instead of doing a review for each book by themselves, I’ll be doing an entire overview of all the books in this post. Now lets get started.



In Divergent, Beatrice Prior takes an aptitude test, which in her world determines what faction you will be put in for the rest of your life. Abnegation: The Selfless, Erudite: The Intelligent, Candor: The Honest, Amity: The Peaceful, and Dauntless: The Brave. When she takes her aptitude test her results come up as inconclusive, Divergent. Divergent is someone who get’s more than one result on an aptitude test and can’t be placed into one faction which disrupts the system. So the only way to harvest order in the system is to kill off those who are Divergent.

Beatrice has to make a choice that will change her life forever. Whether she decides to stay in Abnegation with her family or choose a different faction. Dauntless, a faction where she feels she can be remade in and goes under a the name Tris.

This book goes fast paste with initiation of the dauntless members and comes to a thrilling climax. I was’t able to put this book down for one second while reading it.



The sequel picks up right where Divergent left off, Tris is put in a traumatized state from the ending to the first book and watches as the factions she once lived by start shattering. You are taken through two other factions you don’t yet get to see, Amity and Candor, and learn more about how they live. While in the headquarters for the factions drama occurs which leads to large amounts of actions and keeps building up to the final climax in this book. It yet amazing and is one of the best sequels I’ve ever read.



Allegiant picks up right where Insurgent left off. Tris and her friends finally escape the city to  finally find out what is really beyond the fence of the city. The Bureau of Genetic Welfare is found inside what is known today as the Chicago O’Hare International Airport. There they find out the secrets of whats really been going on in the city and Tris learns more than she ever knew about her mother and why she came to the city. This story is told from not only the point of view of Tris Prior but also her love interest Tobias Eaton. The story goes back and forth through both eyes of the main characters. The story starts getting a little slow in the middle of the book but builds up and keeps building up to the final and emotional climax.

The main controversy with this whole book was the ending. I won’t spoil it but it had to to with the death of an important character. Though I found it really emotional  it was both bold and daring of Veronica Roth to end the series which stands Divergent aside from other YA Dystopian novels and was a bold and daring choice of the author.

FOUR: A Divergent Collection


This book would be considered as a Divergent Prequel but some stories in this book take place during the events of the first book. Four: A Divergent Collection is a collection of five short stories by Veronica Roth written from the perspective of Tobias Eaton. Like how we heard his voice in Allegiant, in this story he take the aptitude test before Tris does an makes a decision like Tris’s to either stay in his born faction Abnegation or choose a faction that suits him. The stories in this collection include, The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son, and The Traitor. The first three stories take place before the events of Divergent where Tobias chooses his new faction and goes through Initiation. The Traitor takes place in the middle of a few key scenes from Divergent.

I enjoyed this book a lot. After I read Allegiant I needed more from this world and this book was more than what I asked for.


Divergent: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 10 stars

Insurgent: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️9 stars

Allegiant: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 10 stars

Four: A Divergent Collection: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 9 stars

The series’ success brought Veronica Roth a movie deal for her first book Divergent which came out March 21, 2014 and greenlit Three following movies!



The Divergent Series: Insurgent which comes out March 20, 2015 and The Divergent Series: Allegiant which is being split into two movies!


That’s all for today’s long review of The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth. Check out more posts for GEEKMAS all this week!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s